A Second Searchers Poster

April 14, 2010 § Leave a comment

Well, to say that i’ve been having the WORST time printing lately would be an understatement. I’ve been working on a few projects over the past weeks and they have all epically failed to the point where I want to throw things, BUT i’m not going to give up. I just need to get my shit together. This is going to be an 24″ x 18″ print, it’s my first one that I have ever designed horizontally because I don’t believe that posters should be side ways butttttt here we are, with a sideways poster. It’s a 3 color job and HOPEFULLY i’ll be printing it sooner rather than later. (Maybe if Christ himself comes down and blesses me with the capability to run ink through a fucking screen, jk I love God.)

Awhile back I made the Indian print as a poster for the movie The Searchers, it’s one of my favorite westerns EVER.  Even if you don’t like westerns, the pure aesthetic quality of this movie will catch your attention, so go watch it and quote John Wayne for days on end (“That’ll be the day”).  I recently re-watched it and loved every second of it like usual. This poster is, to say the least, a screen shot from the movie, I saw it and jumped up right there and took a screen grab, I knew right then that there was something about this shot, it was just right.  I played around with making a halftone of the actual environment that they were in and I felt it was a little overbearing, I wanted it to be more about “the search” more about the adventure of these two men.  So in place of the halftone picture I put a diagonal pattern in the background to basically be a metaphor for their journey, nothing about their journey was on the straight and narrow, there was always some kind of curve ball, or sabotage going on but they always prevail and continue on this search. (Graduation is approaching and I’m slowly realizing that these past 4 years of art school has enabled me to be capable of bullshitting EVERYTHING about art, even diagonal lines 😉 )

ALSO! the Banksy film Exit Through the Gift Shop is opening up in Philly at the Ritz 5 NEXT FRIDAY, April 23rd! So come out and check out this AWESOME movie.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Second Searchers Poster at Nom Now.

meta

