Escape Piece for Comb Magazine

June 1, 2010 § Leave a comment

This is a little piece I put together for my friend Travis. He’s been putting together a magazine called Comb. It has a few similarities to Nom Now in the sense that “the point is to find connecting threads between different mediums of art without forcing them to mold to a certain viewpoint.” Now I can’t write for shit but I love when people can! So if you have any need or want to write or do some art for these guys just send an email to combmag@gmail.com.

So Travis recently asked me to put something together with the theme of “Escape”. I thought about it for a little bit and I was thinking of escaping out of something or from something. But after a while I began to think of it not as a negative thing, we aren’t running away but sometimes we just need a break, just to take a second and relax. With that in mind I used an old street map of philadelphia that looks confusing as all hell and overlaid with a calming picture of what looks like some kind of vacation location. I also tinkered with the colors to give it a calm/relaxing/older bluish feel (which I have to give credit to Matt Goold for)

I’ve been trying to expand my style a bit more and not be so vector based but I’m just getting my feet wet here so, I’m open to any suggestions or comments.

Go check out the magazines wordpress page here and check out their page on facebook here.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Escape Piece for Comb Magazine at Nom Now.

meta

