WorkingMyAssOff Weekends: Screen Printing is Not my Favorite

October 10, 2010 § Leave a comment

So it’s been something like 2 weeks since my last post and I apologize for that, I had a bunch of things planned for last weekend but I just never got around to doing any of my personal work. But now i’ve got some new photos and some new info about shows!

I went to the lab last weekend to print some of these sugar skulls on tee shirts, I haven’t been printing as much as I wanted to and it showed, the shirts were a fail and I was just pissed, so I was determined to go in this weekend and make up for it. I went in the lab with my friend Trox at 10am yesterday, no one was in there, because there’s never anyone in there which I don’t understand at all, if you have access to all this sick machinery you should be in there using it at all times. Anyway, I was going to make this post a step-by-step guide on how to screen print buttttttt I ended up not taking enough pictures to explain it, so I have a bunch of random photos of the studio and decided to include them in the post because you all may be tired of seeing the sugar skull by now.

You can’t really tell from the pictures but there is a background pattern on these puppies that I mixed white and gold ink to make. On a select few the colors look like a gold slick and in my humble opinion looks prettttyyyyy cool. I’m printing these guys the old fashioned way and my registration needs some work, but I’m happy, for the most part, with the way they came out. Being a “perfectionist” doesn’t help much. This print was a 5 color job, and i’ve never printed that many before.  It was a littttttttle bit of a bitch, but then again, when is screen printing not a bitch for me? If there’s one thing I admire, it’s a good screen printer, I don’t know how ya’ll do it so well, but I respect ya’…a lot.

I made this for the upcoming Monster Show at the Masthead Print Studio (340 Brown St. Philadelphia, PA 19123). The postcard there at the bottom has all the info on it, and it should be off the wall awesome. These guys are ALL amazing artists and printers so get out to this and nab some prints! SO that brings me to this point I printed something like 24 of these guys and they will all be available at this show for $5. They are 12″ x 12″ (the same size of a record, so you can go to your local target and buy an ever-so-trendy record frame to throw this puppy in.) Thanks to Shawn and JP for inviting us to be in this.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading WorkingMyAssOff Weekends: Screen Printing is Not my Favorite at Nom Now.

meta

