Catching Up Weekends

November 20, 2010 § Leave a comment

I recently have been going through the big move, to my own place (sans roommates and parents) and it’s been a bit stressful and costing a shit ton of money, but the pay off is priceless so far. In between moving, I have been prepping for shows and trying to keep my head above water with my side work and personal excursions (I haven’t been out pasting in weeeeeeeeeeeks and it makes me sad inside).

But anyway, I have a few treats for ya, the first is a new background becuase it’s been awhile since I made one. This came from a few different things that were going on. I was recently talking to someone about the subtlety of color and how hard it is for me to lock down a nice color combo. I am a man that thinks strictly in black and white. During my first semester at DCAD one of my teachers would not let us work in color because, he said, it is not until you fully understand the relation of contrast and the most basic color combination in it’s entirety that, then can you move on to more complex combinations and colors. So that is why there is a little dash of color in the background and I’ll be trying to introduce a little more color into my work.

I also restumbled upon some of the photos that my father took out in Montana way back and I just love them so much (these are some PERFECT examples of natural beautiful colors). I felt that I needed to play with them a bit more. It’s very very hard to tell that the picture is even involved in the background, but you’ll just have to take my word for it.

I used the slogan “Make it Better” in a piece before, but it’s something that I feel I can’t stress enough. Friendly competition is what drives great work to be created. If you get to comfortable with your day to day creations you start to fall behind and become outdated or irrelevant. If you are constantly trying to “Make it Better” you will always be sharp and keen to everything else that is going on in the world around you. I changed it up a bit and added “together we can…” and I really like the idea that a team or a friendship can really drive something to be extraordinary, it allows you to learn at such an increased pace because it’s not just one person learning it’s 2 or more brains working at once and sharing knowledge for the betterment of the whole, it’s really an amazing thing to witness and be a part of.

The next piece is for an upcoming show that we are involved in called Public School. It’s an all collab show and we got to team up with our good friend Robb Leef of No Division. And he came up with the awesome idea to make, essentially, a cooler/better designed version of magnetic poetry. Each of us are designing a sheet of words to be screen printed, cut up and packaged for people to construct their own phrases with. It’s taking collaboration to another level and getting the viewer involved with the creating aspect rather than them just looking at a print on a wall. So this is my sheet and I’ll be printing it up next weekend and then the show is the following Saturday, so I hope to see you all out there! There are TONS of great artists involved in this show and it’s something I’ve personally been looking forward to for a bit.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Catching Up Weekends at Nom Now.

meta

