Happy Valentines Day

February 14, 2011 § 4 Comments


It’s Valentine’s Day, the excuse to get real gushy and have no care for who sees or knows. A few weeks ago Casey sent me a picture of a card designed by the crew at PTARMAK and was dropping hints that we should make cards like that for each other. I said yes and immediately began thinking how can I over achieve this task. So, I decided that I would make a card for every day of the Valentine’s weekend including some words or phrases that meant a little something to us.

I also took this as a chance to explore a new typeface, Knockout, an extremely ridiculous family by the dudes at Hoefler & Frere Jones. It’s an insane sans serif with 32 different weights, super extended to super condensed and everything you ever needed in between. Every word you see in these cards is written in knockout EXCEPT the in “The Sweetest” and in in the card with all the words on it (those are written in “Brothers”) as you can see, it’s pretty versatile.

I spent a few weeks in the studio printing these guys up, they are all two color screenprints and are only a short edition of 3 each. (I wanted to keep it special) I mixed some gold/raspberry ink into the reds so when you hold it to the light it shines a bit, just to add that extra touch, you know.

This was a good project for me because I finally got to conquer some of my registration issues and other little tid bits that have been giving me the royal screw job in the past. I’m hoping to get in the studio a little more these days and get back to creating something fun and new every weekend.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Happy Valentines Day

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Happy Valentines Day at Nom Now.

meta

