A Smith & Smith Collaboration.

March 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

This is a little piece that Adam Smith and I put together for the upcoming show at Masthead; First Flight Kite Show. He shot me an email a little while back mentioning that we should collab on something in the near future and I was more than down we just needed to think of something to collab on. Then this kite show popped up and Adam asked if I was interested, so I said sure, it’s a great opportunity. We tossed around some ideas and landed on a Charlie Brownish theme. He told me he was working on a water color painting of good old Chuck but when I actually received a photo of the piece I was blown away. Everything from the colors to all the little tattoo’s that represent different pieces of Charlie Brown’s story, just gorgeous. It was suchhhh a beautiful piece that I had NO idea as to how I was going to integrate it into my design which is very geometric and not very colorful. I tinkered around with it for a few days tossing it in a few different kinds of crests on different backgrounds here and there but wasn’t satisfied. Then last Thursday I sat down with it for a few hours and worked it out. I’m pretty happy with the final “digital” piece (not shown here, but shots are soon to come) but I can nottttttt wait for the screen printed version. Adam is going to be breaking it down into CMYK halftones so it looks almost exactly like the original digital piece with gradients and all! As a fellow screen printer, I’ve heard about this technique of printing but had not ever thought to integrate it into my own style, so it should be very interesting to see how it turns out. I’m super excited to see it in person and I’m sure I’ll shoot some photos of it and post it up here later on. Adam is printing an edition of 50, 12″ x 18″ posters for the show so come out and nab one up next Saturday the 12th at Masthead Print Studio.

This is a desktop background version of the piece along with an iPhone Home and Lock Screen.

Enjoy, and pleassssssse (I can not stress this enough) take the second to check out Adam’s work at www.dearadamsmith.com. The guy is amazing!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Smith & Smith Collaboration. at Nom Now.

meta

