My Portfolio Site

March 23, 2011 § 2 Comments

It’s weird to write about my own portfolio site, but as a designer it’s something that is extremely important and can ultimately make or break you when it comes to job hunting.

I put off making a site for a very long time because of the position I was blessed with at The Star Group. I interned here, for almost all of my college years. I came in with a portfolio of nothing but drawings and some piss poor linoleum prints, but, my man Oscar Betancur saw something in me and knew that I wasn’t just going to be a run of the mill intern. I worked my ass off and listened to every single thing he had to say to me. I learned everything I know about design and advertising from this place. I was brought on to the team because I had been working here so long and they knew the work that I was producing was of high enough quality, so I never fell into the senior year “Oh shit, I need to get my portfolio site together!” craze. It was partially because I thought I was never going to graduate from Rowan University but that was no excuse not to have one.

Another reason is that recently, I have been out and about talking to people and they golden question has almost always arisen, “Do you have a website?” And I reluctantly would send people to my blog. Although, I love to write here and stay current by posting something every week (or at least try to) I don’t always post my “best” work or, for that matter, my own work. Sometimes, I like to display treats or artists that inspire me and that kind of stuff would not be on a portfolio site.

I did a little digging and tried to get into learning HTML, but I wasn’t learning it fast enough for what I wanted. I would have loved to say this is my portfolio site and I built it from scratch, but that’s not going to happen any time soon. I was looking around at artist like Mark Weaver, Olly Moss, and Alex Cornell, and I was LOVING the simplicity of their sites. I noticed that some of them were running on Cargo Collective but I couldn’t figure out how to get in. Casey told me it was invite only, and I didn’t know anyone that had one so I figured I was SOL there. BUTTTT I was recently checking out my friend Bobby Jefferies rad portfolio and I noticed that he was on Cargo as well! I asked if he cold hook me up with an invite and he was more than happy to help. (P.S. Dude, I can not thank you enough for being so generous with it)

I went right to work with picking a theme and getting all my shit in order, trying to pick the best of things and what not. This is what I ended up with, and I’m sure I’ll be adding to it as time goes on. I could not be any more happy with it, and am pumped to move forward with my design career. If you have a second check it out and tell me what ya think. Thanks!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to My Portfolio Site

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Portfolio Site at Nom Now.

meta

