Well Done is Better Than Well Said

July 16, 2011 § 5 Comments

I’ve been sort of M.I.A. to the Nom Now world for some time now but this weekend I changed that. I have been working on some really exciting things and staying super busy these past few weeks, I feel like I haven’t gotten the chance to slow down and relax in so long, but playa’s gotta play. I figured I’d come back strong with a nice smooth background set. I updated the logo of the Nom Now page on facebook to match our current “style & feel”, with the textures and the subtleness and whatnot. Anyway, I really wanted to do something with that mark and those colors. So, I sat down last night and this shield came to mind. I made a tee shirt design for our TrickGo show last year that had a shield on it and I loved it, I washed the shirt too many times and it got too small so I figured in honor of it I’d make this background.

One thing that was different about this file is that it was made entirely in Illustrator, I’ve been leaning towards doing this because if I ever want to take a design to the street, I can blow it up to however big I want and there will be ZERO pixillation. The design itself is very simple and straight forward; Shield, Gingham, Keys, a Lightning Bolt, Banners, The Year Philadelphia was Founded and I tied it all together with a classic Ben Franklin Quote, “Well Done is Better Than Well Said” (Written in Caslon, which is the typeface of our Declaration of Independence, HiStOrIc ReLevAnCe) Anyway, I thought this was a great quote for this Nom Now work because we are all about doing, just moving forward and doing your best. What I think Ben is trying to say is, “Talk is cheap, get out there and do something!”

ALSO! I found those Cinema Display and iPhone 4 templates a few weeks ago and just think that they are so sleek and can make any design look ten times sleeker and all you have to do is drop a jpeg in there and you’re good to go! Way better than just posting flat jpegs.

Now that you know the entire back story, go’head and give these a spin! Click to open in a new window, save it to your desktop, set as desktop background.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Well Done is Better Than Well Said

  • […] Mike Smith of NOM NOW has rolled out these shiny new wallpapers with the particularly apt Ben Franklin quote, “Better well done than well said.” Always, click on an image first, then download the full-sized version and optimize your ocular computer experience with only a few clicks! […]

  • […] Mike Smith of NOM NOW has rolled out these shiny new wallpapers with the particularly apt Ben Franklin quote, “Better well done than well said.” As always, click on an image first, then download the full-sized version and optimize your ocular computer experience with only a few clicks! […]

  • Henry says:

    Hi Mike,

    Been looking at your blog for quite a while for inspiration, you work is amazing. I was just wondering on the font type you used for the “Well Done is Better Than Well Said” quote. I know you’ve mentioned that it’s Caslon, can you tell me the exact name, as I’m trying to see if I can get it, and did you mix-match the different type under Caslon family?

    Thanks

    • mikesmith187 says:

      Thanks for such kind words, it’s always so good to hear stuff like that . The typeface is Adobe Caslon Pro bold italic with the 1st letter swapped for it’s built in glyph in Illustrator or InDesign. Hope that helps! Shoot me an email if you need anything else!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Well Done is Better Than Well Said at Nom Now.

meta

