Studio Sweet Studio: Honor Roll

January 23, 2012 § Leave a comment

Christ, well I’ve been insanely busy for the past few months and now I’m back with this little treat. A little while ago Meg Lewis emailed me and asked if I would like to be a contributing writer for Studio Sweet Studio and I was more than pumped to take on this great opportunity. But I had to come up with an idea, a purpose, a method to the madness and I had NO IDEA what to do. I tinkered around with the thought of interviewing designers strictly on their inspiration and/or color palettes but I felt it didn’t have enough substance. I wanted to write something that people looked forward to reading or contributing to. I brainstormed with Matt Goold for a bit coming up with a bunch of concepts and possible names and we came up with Honor Roll. The whole premise is to focus on undergraduate designers and really give them a chance to get their work out into the design community. Here’s a brief elevator pitch I wrote in the very beginning:

This Honor Roll section was made to shine the light on the younger talent out there in the design community. When I was in school, I was reading blogs every day and stalking the shit out of all the heavy hitter designers never thinking that anyone would ever want to write about me because I was just some kid in school. But now that I am out, I look around at some of the portfolio sites that kids are putting up and I am just blown away by the work coming out of these undergrads. So I wanted to start this for those kids that are working their asses off and give them some recognition for the blood and tears that they are putting in.

I want it to be a great place for other younger designers to see work that their peers are putting out. A place where they could get inspired and connect with other amazing students. And also a place where people looking to hire bright and fresh designers right out of school could go to see the cream of the crop. So if you think that you or someone you know would be a great candidate? Send me an e-mail!!

Click here to see the first post about my pal Ray Ureña!!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Studio Sweet Studio: Honor Roll at Nom Now.

meta

