My Best Friend’s Wedding

August 25, 2012 § 2 Comments

ImageI got to design this wedding invitation for two of the most special people in my life. I met Matt & Kirby my sophomore year of college and ever since they have always been Matt & Kirby to me, never one without the other. They came over to my mom’s house to carve pumpkins and ever since then I’ve declared them my second set of parents. They’ve been there with me through the worst times and the best times. There are no other people in the world that I would trust more than them, they listen to me bitch and complain about every single thing that happens in my life and then offer a valid, considered, and sane response that I don’t want to hear but is always right.

Matt had told me in college that he was going to marry Kirby, and this is something we all knew. When he told me that I immediately said, “I want to make your invites.”  The engagement came and the challenge was ON. Now I’ve made wedding invites before, but nothing like this. This is the wedding to conquer all weddings so a proper invite was essential. Like I had mentioned before Matt & Kirby know me better than anyone else in the world and I’d like to think that I know them just as well, so I decided to go this hands on native american look. Once the invite took shape everything else just sort of started to fall in place.

Now, I held nothing back while making these invites, Envelope liners? Yup. Customizable hand stamped reply cards? Yeah, that’s happening. Letterpressed Invites? Is there any other another option? Special ordered envelopes with every name hand set on each one? Of course, toss that into the mix. And did almost everything go wrong while making all of this? Hell yeah, nothing good comes easy and, jesus christ, it wasn’t easy. Anything that could go wrong went wrong. But hey, you wouldn’t have known that if I didn’t just write it.

I knew from day one that I wanted to letterpress these bad boys. I never had a REAL reason to get anything letterpressed before then and I had talked with Scott McClelland for a little bit about possibly working together. So the day finally came where I gave Scott the word that I was ready to go. He invited me to come down and check out his presses and learn a little more about how the whole process works. I was blown away. Such beautiful machines making such amazing art. I left thinking, holy shit. I’m going to letterpress every single thing I do from now on. BUT I don’t know if I could afford that. Scott’s attention to detail and ink matching precision was amazing to see. I have the utmost respect for people that not only do their job well but love doing their job. They eat, sleep, and breathe it and he was the definition of that. I couldn’t be happier with how they turned out. Thanks a ton for your patience man.

I decided that I wanted to work in the reply card stamp because every single person invited to this wedding is someone special, someone important to Matt & Kirby and they deserve more than just a print out. Every reply card was stamped individually on both sides with a custom ink formula (aka: 3 pushes on the black ink pad and 3 pushes on the blue ink pad, real high tech stuff) This is a small wedding so we had to figure out a way to include a seat number with each reply card, which was going to be difficult because we were hand stamping every reply. What we ended up doing was leaving a big enough space in one stamp to leave room for a very small one or a two depending on how many seats were reserved for that particular guest. Stamping those little one’s and two’s was most likely the best part of this entire process.

After weeks of waiting to instagram the shit out of these, I said to myself, “Okay, I held nothing back with the execution of these, I worked with an amazing letterpresser, I’ve spent hours upon hours with Matt, Kirby, and Nick getting all of envelopes lined with the addresses printed on them, all the replies stamped, and all the direction cards in place, now it’s time to photograph this stuff, I’m not going to hold anything back here either. I’m calling in the king of wedding photos; Pat Furey.” I cruised on over to his apartment where we set up shop infront of a window and he banged these photos out in under an hour. I was shocked with how amazing the photos turned out and I am forever in his debt. The man knows what he’s doing.

That’s about all I have to say about this experience, it was amazing and tested my patience more often than not but in the end it was all worth it. I wanted to make something that was just as special as the people that I was making it for. The blood, tears, and sweat that went into this was all out of love and compassion for the two people in the world that I know would do the same for me. All that’s left to do now is to go to this wedding and have the best time of my life. I would wish best of luck to you two, but I know you don’t need it. Both of you will be happy forever, that’s a fact. Thank you for everything you’ve given me, from the haircuts to the hugs I wouldn’t be the person I am today without you two.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to My Best Friend’s Wedding

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Best Friend’s Wedding at Nom Now.

meta

