Go Vote & Stuff

November 4, 2012 § 1 Comment

Now, I don’t normally do this but this election is going to be a doozie. I try to stay out of the whole “Who are you voting for” scene because I don’t want some ass hat jamming politics down my esophagus. But I was approached by the #GoVote people last weekend to make something to encourage young/all voters to get out there and make their voice heard. I was futzing around with some textured fake hand done looking type (like the rest of the world is doing right now) then I decided, nah, I want to make this more interesting/comical. So this is what I came up with. A newspaper that has some quips about the debates as well as some incentives/excuses.

I watched all of the debates and have been following this election pretty loosely so I wanted to tie in some of that binder nonsense and with the help from the crafty wordsmith Chara we came up with the line “Voters in a bind, some in binders” and that was just too much for me to handle. I knew that I had to take this piece to the next level, not just toss it on the internet, but make it a 6′ x 9′ paste for all of Philadelphia/people walking past 9th and Spring Garden to see. So I did just that, with the help of two super amazing dudes: James Anderson & Tim Beitz. Couldn’t have done it without you kids.

Now to get into the semi sappy part of this. I agreed to do this piece on top of my already unbelievably hectic schedule because of how strongly I feel about this election. It is a perfect tie-in to the whole “Nom Now” street art stuff that I do. The “Nom Now” philosophy is to make your name part of the now and get involved with your life, via art or whatever makes you happy. It’s about just being 100% whole heartedly involved in it. As a US Citizen it’s your right to get out there and vote and make a decision that with affect your life in one way or another. So many people just sit back and say, “Oh, I don’t live in a swing state, my vote doesn’t count anyway.” Like hell is doesn’t count. If you support someone, THEN GO SUPPORT THEM. Back to my point, I was more than pleased to make something that would encourage people to get up and do something about their life and still make fun or whatever. I just want people to see this and lol for a second and then say, “Shit, I probably should do that.”

The whole point of this #GoVote project is to flood the internet with interesting designs that encourage people to get out there and make their voice heard, so feel free to share this on any social jam you’re working with. Try to link it to this post or my website but if you don’t it’s not a big deal either, do you boo boo.

SO HERE ARE SOME OTHER THINGS THAT I’VE BEEN MAKING!

I’ve been doing some work with an awesome company called Art-Reach, they help make the arts accessible to underserved peeps here in Philadelphia. It’s a great organization doing some truly amazing work. They asked me to make an invitation for their annual jazz brunch and this is what magically came out of my computer.

I also got to attend said jazz brunch and it was AMAZING, super beautiful and grand and served probably the best cheesecake I’ve ever eaten. Big thanks to Katie Phillips and all the people at Art-Reach for listening to my bullshit reasons as to why to tell the printer to fuck off.

I finished up my 3rd brand concept at 160over90 and wrote a gigantic blog post about it over on their blog, so give it a peep if you care. If not, there are some photos below.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Go Vote & Stuff

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Go Vote & Stuff at Nom Now.

meta

